Content

Invited Speakers

Opening Lecture:

Professor Peter Hunter, The University of Auckland, Director, Bioengineering Institute, Level 6, 70 Symonds Street, Auckland, New Zealand, e-mail: p.hunter@auckland.ac.nz
Title: A bioengineer's view of recent development in VPH/Physiome Project

 

Plenary Lectures:

Professor Wing Kam Liu, Walter P. Murphy Professor, Northwestern University, Department of Mechanical Engineering, 2145 Sheridan Rd., Evanston, IL 60208-3111, USA, e-mail: w-liu@northwestern.edu
Title: Nano-Devices in Biotechnology and Drug Delivery

Professor J.N. Reddy, Department of Mechanical Engineering, Texas A&M University, College Station, Texas 77843-3123, USA, e-mail: jnreddy@tamu.edu
Title: Multiscale Processes in Analysis of Nanotube Reinforced Tissue Engineering Bioreactors

 

Keynote Lectures:

Professor Raúl A. Feijóo and Professor Pablo J Blanco, Coordenação de Ciência da Computação, Laboratório Nacional de Computação Científica, Av. Getúlio Vargas 333, Quitandinha, CEP: 25651-075, Petrópolis, RJ, Brasil, e-mail: feij@lncc.br
Title: A computational model for the entire cardiovascular system based on coupling hetero-dimensional models.

Professor Nic Smith, Head of Biomedical Engineering, Imaging Sciences & Biomedical Engineering Division, St Thomas' Hospital, Kings College London, UK, e-mail: nicsmith@comlab.ox.ac.uk
Title: Multi-scale modelling of cardiac flow and coronary perfusion

Professor David Steinman, Biomedical Simulation Laboratory, University of Toronto, 5 King's College Road, Totonto ON, Canada, M5S 3G8, e-mail: steinman@mie.utotonto.ca
Title: Thinking outside the bench

Professor Guowei Wei, Michigan State University, East Lansing, MI 48824, USA, e-mail: wei@math.msu.edu
Title: Multiscale models for nano-bio systems

Professor Jean-Frederic Gerbeau, INRIA Paris-Rocquencourt, F-78153 Le Chesnay Cedex, France, e-mail: jean-frederic.gerbeau@inria.fr
Title: Application of Reduced Order Modeling for Mechanical and Electrical aspects of the Cardiovascular System.

Professor Gui-Rong Liu, Centre for ACES, Department of Mechanical Engineering, National University of Singapore, 10 Kent Ridge Crescent, Singapore, e-mail: mpeliugr@nus.edu.sg
Title: Meshfree methods based on W2 formulation for flow simulation of deformable red blood cells

Professor Anne M. Robertson, Department of Mechanical Engineering and Materials Science, University of Pittsburgh, USA, e-mail: rbertson@pitt.edu
Title: Use of computational fluid dynamics for the design and development of animal models for studies of the pathophysiology of cerebral aneurysms

Professor Ge Wang, ICTAS Center for Biomedical Imaging, School of Biomedical Engineering & Sciences, Virginia Tech, USA, e-mail: wangg@vt.edu
Title: Fast X-ray Imaging

Professor Karol Miller, Leverhulme Visiting Professor, C2EC, Swansea University, UK and Winthrop Professor of Applied Mechanics, The University of Western Australia, e-mail: kmiller@mech.uwa.edu.au
Title: Real-time finite element and meshless methods for modelling neurosurgery